Book Review: Heartburn by Nora Ephron

The weather in the UK has been absolutely dreadful as of late, but as we approach another month of lockdown it’s perhaps a good thing that the outside will most likely be pouring it down for the remainder of the year. What do I like to do when it’s cold and dreary outside? Grab my phone, open Netflix, settle into bed and watch all of Nora Ephron’s films that are available on the platform. (Julie & Julia, You’ve Got Mail, and When Harry Met Sally) These films are wholesome, easy to watch and offer such warmth that every re-watch is just as enjoyable as the last. Perfect movies for the winter season.

Despite being a fan of Ephron’s films, aside from her essay collection I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman, I hadn’t read any of her other works until now. Heartburn was Ephron’s first and only fictional novel, and I went into this with high expectations due to it being such a beloved and important book to many.

Heartburn follows Rachel Samstat, a successful food writer who finds out that her husband is having an affair. She is seven months into her second pregnancy when she discovers a book that her husband’s mistress has inscribed for their son. Heartbroken and at a loss, Rachel flees back to her hometown of New York trying to process what has just happened to her. Interspersed throughout the novel are recipes by Rachel, ranging from classic mashed potatoes to key lime pie and other desserts.

Carl Bernstein and Nora Ephron in 1977 before their divorce.
Carl Bernstein and Nora Ephron in 1977 before their divorce.

I already had the knowledge that this book was based on Ephron’s second marriage and divorce to Carl Bernstein but let me tell you, this knowledge still didn’t prepare me for how incredibly painful some of the events in this book are. There’s a particular scene which I am unable to shake off because I honestly cannot believe such an event actually happened: Rachel’s husband Mark comes to fetch her after he realises she has run off with their son. She agrees to return only on the condition that he stops seeing his mistress. Cue the most infuriating and soul-destroying plane ride in history.

“The stewardess came down the aisle to collect the fares. Now, Mark and I always split things up. I paid my way; I always paid my way. We both earned money, and the money we earned went to pay for what we did. But wouldn’t you think that on this night of all nights he ought to have put my shuttle fare on his credit card? Well he didn’t.”

Heartburn, Chapter VII, Page 96.

On top of not even having the decency to pay for Rachel’s share of the fare after subjecting her to such cruelty, Mark doesn’t even keep his promise to stop seeing Thelma, and throughout the rest of the book Rachel is left to navigate her broken marriage and heartache on her own. Though much of the novel approaches these events with humor, I found myself loathing Mark and Thelma above anything else, unable to separate this — what Ephron calls, “thin-disguise” between fiction and reality. These characters were truly dreadful and all I could do to combat my immense hatred for them was commend Ephron for getting through such a traumatic event and somehow turning it into comedic fiction.

Though it is this conversion of pain into comedy that truly highlights Ephron’s genius and wisdom. Her writing is seamless, delivering — at times, incredibly depressing and memorable one-liners, but having us genuinely laugh and see the funny side of things a few seconds later. Above all, this novel explores the realities of infidelity and its repercussions. It is about coping with betrayal and understanding that the love shared between two people isn’t always a level playing field. There is humor to be found in heartache and tragedy at times, but all of that comes after giving yourself some time to reflect and heal. Heartburn feels like grief, reflection and acceptance all at once, and whilst I would much prefer to dive into the feel-good worlds of her movies, Ephron’s writing demonstrates that you can take control of your own pain and suffering and turn it into something to laugh about later.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I hope you enjoyed this review. If you have any thoughts about this novel I would love to discuss them with you!

Until next time.

With Love,
Erika. ♡

Leave a comment